Women Around the World: Daily Article Feed

Your daily dose of stuff you want to read about. Brought to you by The Whirling Girlish.

Image

(photo via Washington Post)

Gloria Steinem on “feminist icons”: http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/she-the-people/wp/2013/11/19/gloria-steinem-no-such-thing-as-a-feminist-icon/ (via Washington Post)

Tackling Class and Culture: http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/nov/17/feminism-tackle-class-as-well-as-culture (via The Guardian)

Powerpuff Girls as Super Heroines?: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/11/18/powerpuff-girls-feminists_n_4234202.html (via Huffington Post)

Younger generations and feminism: http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/comment/theyve-betrayed-feminism-they-define-life-in-terms-of-sex-theyre-always-whingeing-whats-wrong-with-todays-younger-generation-8945406.html (via Independent)

Ethiopia’s Health Initiative: http://www.newsweek.com/women-behind-ethiopias-health-initiative-3391 (via Newsweek)

Carrie Brownstein Rocks with Pearl Jam: http://www.rollingstone.com/music/videos/pearl-jam-rock-the-free-world-with-carrie-brownstein-st-vincent-20131118 (via Rollingstone)

The Hunger Games Anti-Consumerism: http://bitchmagazine.org/post/the-hunger-games-anti-consumerism-message-is-no-match-for-cover-girl (via Bitch Magazine)

Compelling sexism comic: http://bitchmagazine.org/post/comic-explains-why-its-important-to-speak-up-about-sexism-in-the-comics-industry (via Bitch Magazine)

Who are the most discriminated workers?: http://www.msmagazine.com/news/uswirestory.asp?ID=14718 (via Ms. Magazine)

Spoken Word Playlist: http://bluestockingsmag.com/2013/11/17/feminist-frequencies-a-spoken-word-playlist/ (via Bluestockings Magazine)

Tracy Shedd covers Sonic Youth: http://www.suburbanapologist.com/album-review-tracy-shedd-arizona-see-her-for-a-free-show-at-new-world-on-thursday/ (via Suburban Apologist)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s